I Came, I “Conned”, I Conquered

Not many people are aware of the grandeur of effort put into the grand convention that is known as Comic Con. To the untrained eye, or the un-imaginative individual, Comic Con can appear to be a “massive nerd gathering” in which people “dress up in costumes” and parade around all day taking pictures. However, speaking as a first-time “conner” and first time cosplayer (that’s what those “costumes” are called by the way), Comic Con was actually much more than the stereotypical “massive nerd gathering”.

17098533_1403806599670597_8594120248635244929_n

Me in Cosplay at ECCC 2017 with a fellow Cosplayer as Ursula the Sea Witch – Complete with Sebastian.

What I learned while attending my first ever Comic Con in Seattle, WA was that people gathered to share stories, experiences, their phenomenal artistic abilities, and support the “nerdy” beauty within one another. Whether you were Batman taking a photo with the Animaniacs, you were John Snow making GOT fans weak in the knees, you were the entire crew from Guardians of the Galaxy, or you were a Disney princess with a line of people wanting to have their photo taken with you; Comic Con was truly an awe-inspiring and beautiful experience.

My first Con was not what I had originally believed it would be. I went on Thursday and Friday to Emerald City Comic Con and discovered that you will see and meet different people on different days. While the Thursday crowds are more populated with people not in their cosplays trying to meet up with friends, or find where their workshop/seminar is the next day; Friday was when the more serious and incredibly talented cosplayers graced the exhibit hall with their presence. We are talking true, jaw-dropping, hand-made, and hand stitched cosplays that easily take hours upon hours to complete.

16865047_1403806556337268_8873862249115112189_n

My friend Tracy (Lucy Ball) and I preparing to head to Comic Con as two fire-cracker redheads.

Say what you will about the term “nerd” but I am incredibly proud of my ability to share with these fellow individuals what I am passionate about and what genuinely makes me happy. For example, I am a great fan of Disney – I love the theme parks, I enjoy the films, and I actually look back fondly on my childhood when I hear a Disney song playing (singing along with every note of course). So it is no surprise I decided that for my first ever Comic Con I would go as a Disney character… but then it became the question of “who would I be?”

I wanted to be someone who made others happy, someone who people would notice, someone who would stick out from the crowd of thousands of con-goers. Naturally, this thought process led me to build out a series of three cosplays that encompassed one single character – Ariel, from Walt Disney’s own The Little Mermaid.

I found that, with no sewing abilities, I had to get creative (and stay on a budget) in order to make these cosplays work. I will share my main Ariel cosplay as to not spoil the surprise with my other two versions in the event I want to bust them out in the future 🙂

Disney’s The Little Mermaid Cosplay – Ariel’s Blue Tourist Dress

17310583_1418215118229745_2017452882_o

Me dressed in my Cosplay at Emerald City Comic Con – March 2017

  • Red Wig: $10.99 on Amazon
  • White long-sleeve shirt: $5.00 from Walmart
  • Blue skirt: $10 prom dress from thrift store
  • Blue hair bow: cut and sewn from the top of blue prom dress
  • Black corset: $20 on Amazon
  • Black tube top: $6.08 on Amazon
  • Black flats: I already owned – originally purchased from Kohl’s
  • Sebastian companion – gifted to me by my friend
  • Make up – nothing you can’t find at your local drug store

Total Ariel Cosplay Cost: $52.07

My first ever Comic Con was a complete success. I went with an amazing friend who made an incredibly beautiful and authentic Lucy Ball, I asked strangers if I could have my photo taken with them, I had strangers ask if they could have a photo taken with me, I found fellow Disney princess cosplayers and we drew in a crowd of people wanting photos with the Disney princess crew, and I had the absolute best time being my nerdy self.

Until next time Comic Con – Ariel out. #micdrop

16938973_1403806663003924_6176526556718914408_n

Cruella De Vil was unimpressed by the Disney Princess brigade comprised of Ariel (The Little Mermaid), Tiana (The Princess and the Frog), Anna (Frozen), and Merida (Brave).

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

